BYD Seal U DM-i vs Tesla Model Y: plug-in hybrid or electric?
These are not the same kind of car. BYD UK sells the Seal U as a plug-in hybrid: its page lists 70 km-plus of pure EV range and up to 1,080 km combined with petrol. The Model Y is fully electric, at 309 to 387 miles (WLTP) on Tesla's UK page. Pick the Model Y if you can charge easily and want no petrol. Pick the Seal U DM-i if long trips without a charging stop matter more.
The short answer
This is not a like-for-like comparison, and we would rather say so up front. BYD UK sells the Seal U as the Seal U DM-i, a plug-in hybrid: a petrol engine, a battery you can plug in and an electric motor. The Tesla Model Y is fully electric. The real question is which kind of car fits how you drive and charge.
Pick the Tesla Model Y if you can charge at home or at work and want a car with no petrol at all. Tesla’s UK page lists 309 miles (WLTP) for the Rear-Wheel Drive and up to 387 for the Premium Long Range All-Wheel Drive. It also lists 1,600 kg of towing capacity.
Pick the BYD Seal U DM-i if you want to cover long distances without planning a charging stop. BYD UK’s page lists 70km+ of pure EV range and up to 1,080 km combined with petrol; the May 2024 specification sheet adds a 60-litre tank and an 18 kW DC charging maximum. You keep the electric part for short trips, if you plug in.
Every number below comes from the makers’ own UK pages and BYD’s specification sheet, which we read on October 27, 2026. We quote no prices. Where the BYD UK page and the sheet differ, we use the page and say “according to the May 2024 sheet” for the sheet. The sheet’s file metadata dates it May 2024 and BYD says figures are subject to change, so confirm the current ones with a dealer. If you want an all-electric BYD SUV, look at BYD’s electric models, such as the Sealion 7, which we cover separately.
What actually changes in daily life
Range. The two lists measure different things. Tesla’s WLTP range (309, 375 or 387 miles) is all electric. BYD UK’s page lists “70km+” of pure EV range and up to 1,080 km of combined range (about 43 miles or more electric and up to 671 miles combined, by our conversion), and 6.4 L/100 km of fuel consumption. According to the May 2024 sheet, the electric range is 80 km for the Boost and 70 km for the Design, the combined range is 1,080 and 870 km, and the combined fuel consumption with the battery depleted is 6.4 and 7.4 L/100 km. Once the battery is empty, the car runs on petrol.
Charging. According to the May 2024 sheet, the Seal U DM-i has an 18.3 kWh battery, an 11 kW AC maximum (listed for 15 to 100 percent: 120 minutes) and an 18 kW DC maximum (listed for 30 to 80 percent: 35 minutes). Tesla lists a different measure: up to 147, 160 or 166 miles of range added by a 15-minute Supercharge, at a constant 65 mph. We cannot convert one into the other, and neither is a promise for your charger.
Speed. BYD UK’s page lists 5.9 seconds for 0-100 km/h on the all-wheel drive. According to the May 2024 sheet, that is the Design (238 kW), and the Boost (front-wheel drive, 160 kW) lists 8.9 seconds. Tesla lists 6.9, 5.4 and 4.4 seconds for 0-60 mph, on the Rear-Wheel Drive and the two Premium versions.
Space. The May 2024 sheet lists a 425-litre boot and 1,440 litres with the seats folded, at 4,775 mm long and 1,890 mm wide. Tesla lists 2,118 litres of total cargo space and no dimensions on the page we read. These may not be measured the same way: bring what you carry and test it.
Towing. Tesla lists 1,600 kg for the Model Y (it needs the optional tow bar). The BYD page and sheet we read give no towing figure: not stated, so ask the dealer in writing.
Seats and equipment. The Model Y is a five-seat car, and the Premium Long Range All-Wheel Drive can have a seven-seat interior. According to the May 2024 sheet, BYD lists a panoramic sunroof, ventilated and heated front seats, a head-up display, a 15.6-inch rotating touchscreen and Apple CarPlay and Android Auto on both trims. Tesla’s compare page does not list CarPlay or Android Auto, and it lists a closed glass roof on the Rear-Wheel Drive and a panoramic one on the Premium versions. Tesla also lists a 16-inch touchscreen and, on the Premium versions, an 8-inch second-row screen.
Weight. The May 2024 sheet lists a kerb weight of 1,940 kg (Boost) and 2,100 kg (Design). The Tesla page we read gives none.
Trim by trim (our arithmetic)
The closest pairings by drive, with the Seal U DM-i figures from the May 2024 sheet: the Boost (front-wheel drive, 8.9 s) against the Model Y Rear-Wheel Drive (6.9 s to 60 mph), and the Design (all-wheel drive, 5.9 s) against the Model Y Premium Long Range All-Wheel Drive (4.4 s to 60 mph). The thresholds differ, so the listed gaps are indicative. On range, the Model Y’s electric figure is 309 to 387 miles against the Seal U DM-i’s 70km+ (about 43 miles or more) electric on BYD UK’s page. The Seal U DM-i’s combined range needs petrol. We did not read the Model Y Performance, which Tesla lists separately.
One table to decide
| You care most about | Look at |
|---|---|
| No petrol at all | Model Y |
| The longest listed total range | Seal U DM-i (up to 1,080 km with petrol, BYD UK page) |
| The longest listed electric range | Model Y (309 to 387 mi) |
| Towing | Model Y (1,600 kg, optional tow bar); BYD not stated |
| Seven seats | Model Y Premium Long Range All-Wheel Drive |
| Apple CarPlay and Android Auto listed | Seal U DM-i |
Before you order: 7 checks
- Which exact version is on your order? Boost or Design, Rear-Wheel Drive or Premium.
- The date in writing, and what happens if it moves. See why the Tesla delivery date keeps changing.
- Where you will charge. If you cannot plug in, a plug-in hybrid mostly runs on petrol.
- The warranty document for your exact version. We compare neither.
- Towing: get the figure in writing for the version you order.
- Insurance quotes for the exact version.
- Screenshots of the maker’s page and your order, today. Makers change versions.
On delivery day: 7 checks
TSL Check is the iPhone app we make for Tesla deliveries, and BD Check is its companion for BYD, with a Seal U DM-i checklist. Both walk you around the car area by area, with a photo and a note for each point. BD Check does not inspect the engine or the battery. The seven that matter most:
- Walk around in daylight: panel gaps, paint, glass.
- Check the wheels and tires against your order.
- Test every seat, the roof and the boot.
- Check the charge port and the cable you ordered. On the Seal U DM-i, check the fuel door too.
- Check the screen, cameras and the driver-assistance features on the order.
- On the Seal U DM-i, check that the EV/HEV button changes the mode, and listen for the petrol engine on a short test drive.
- Ask the advisor to record anything wrong before you sign. See what to expect at a Tesla delivery center.
Why you can trust this comparison
We make TSL Check and BD Check, and we also make RVN Check for Rivian. We sell no cars and nothing here depends on your choice. We quote no prices; every number comes from the makers’ own UK pages, dated above.


Whatever you find at delivery, ask the advisor to record it before you sign, and keep a copy.
Frequently asked questions
Is the BYD Seal U an electric car?
In the UK, no. BYD UK lists the Seal U DM-i under hybrid cars and describes it as a plug-in hybrid SUV, with a 1.5-litre petrol engine, an 18.3 kWh battery and electric motors. BYD's fully electric SUVs in the UK are other models, such as the Sealion 7.
How far can the Seal U DM-i go on electricity alone?
The current BYD UK page says 70km+ of pure EV range and up to 1,080 km combined range. According to the May 2024 specification sheet, the combined WLTP electric range is 80 km for the Boost and 70 km for the Design, and the combined range with petrol is 1,080 and 870 km. The sheet says actual figures vary with weather, traffic, load and driving behavior.
How far does the Model Y go on a charge?
Tesla's UK page lists 309 miles (WLTP) for the Rear-Wheel Drive, 375 for the Premium Long Range Rear-Wheel Drive and 387 for the Premium Long Range All-Wheel Drive. Tesla says actual range varies with speed, weather and elevation change.
Which can tow more?
Tesla lists 1,600 kg of towing capacity for the Model Y; its design page says it needs a class II steel tow bar, which is an optional extra. The BYD specification sheet we read gives no towing figure, so ask the dealer for it in writing.
Which is quicker?
On paper, the top versions: the Model Y Premium Long Range All-Wheel Drive lists 4.4 seconds for 0-60 mph, and BYD UK lists 5.9 seconds for 0-100 km/h on the Seal U DM-i all-wheel drive. The thresholds differ, so treat the gap as indicative.
Does BD Check cover the Seal U DM-i?
Yes. BD Check, the app we make for BYD deliveries, has a Seal U DM-i checklist with the fuel door and the EV/HEV mode buttons. It checks the car you can see and drive, not the engine or the battery, so it cannot tell you the mechanical condition.
Sources
- BYD UK: SEAL U DM-i, plug-in hybrid SUV, consulted Oct 27, 2026 (opens in a new tab)
- BYD: SEAL U DM-i Specification (linked from the BYD UK page; the file's metadata dates it May 2024), consulted Oct 27, 2026 (opens in a new tab)
- Tesla: Design Your Model Y, Compare Models (United Kingdom), consulted Oct 27, 2026 (opens in a new tab)